What I wish I’d known when I started out in Church leadership

Posted: December 3, 2012 by ignitecd in Uncategorized

What I wish I’d known when I started out in Church leadership

When I became a Christian leader, I wish I’d known that my vocational choice wouldn’t guarantee certainty, which can make life difficult. It’s hard to fulfill one’s duties as a minister of the gospel while wondering if what we boldly proclaim as truth is actually true at all… (sorry, PCC, but I’m going through an atheistic phase… any chance of a couple of weeks off?)

Doubt is a mosquito that I can never quite kill, and if past performance is anything to go by, I never will successfully swat it this side of the New Jerusalem. Most of the time, doubt rumbles rather than roars, the vaguest trembling of the ground that I stand on, distant, irritating, troubling even, but not turbulent enough to create a earthquake that Richter would be interested in. I do’;t lose my faith, I just occasionally mislay it.

READ ON

Comments are closed.