Leading students into rhythms that last

Posted: March 6, 2013 by wjfkee in Uncategorized

Sustainable Practices.

 “For two weeks each summer I have a great relationship with God,” said my young friend, smiling. “Then the rest of the year, I’m just waiting for camp to start again.”

We were at the first meeting of a new small group in our high school ministry. I had been trying to get a sense of where these girls were spiritually. I wasn’t getting much substance from their answers—mostly just lots of chatter about the Jesus Calling app, when Caroline finally told me like it really was.

Surely it’s not the first time I’ve heard a student talk about a “camp high,” but it felt like this was the first time I’d heard a student articulate the inconsistency in her relationship with God so clearly – so proudly. Her words stuck in my head and played and replayed the next few months. As I planned Sunday School lessons and prepared for summer mission trips and prayed about the future vision of the ministry, I thought of her specifically.

Comments are closed.